Good DCC??

Post Reply
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2021 9:20 pm

Good DCC??

Post by admin »

Posting for Rob:

I am new to DCC.

Is there a good make / model / sytemm to start with?
graywolf06
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2021 12:38 pm

Re: Good DCC??

Post by graywolf06 »

Look at the NCE Powercab. It can run about 4 HO trains at once and can be upgraded if your layout get very large without you losing the cost of your original purchase. They are available for under $200. Also you can accomplish any programing you may want to do. The programing is not possible with some other units such as Bachmann which you may be tempted to purchase.
bsuarez
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2021 9:28 am

Re: Good DCC??

Post by bsuarez »

I agree, the NCE Power Cab is a great way to start.

As my layout grew I added the SB5 booster to run more locos simultaneously. When you do this the Power Cab operates as a Pro Cab on the "boosted" layout but can still function as the Power Cab separately.

I also took the power supply and fascia panel for the Power Cab and setup a separate programming track where I can work on a loco independently of the main layout.
Scott
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2021 12:06 am

Re: Good DCC??

Post by Scott »

I use the PowerCab as well, but one which is radio-equipped, that talks to the RB02 transceiver that plugs into the Cab bus on the SB5 Smart Booster. This way, I am free to roam the layout whilst maintaining control over running trains (the PowerCab allows control over 6 locomotive addresses before you've got to use the "Select Loco" button to gain control over a seventh). Plus, each loco address can be used to control a consist with multiple locos, which raises the limit of controllable units on a "round robin" basis using the "Recall" button.
Post Reply