leds on control panel

giddykippa

leds on control panel

Post by giddykippa »

hi everyone im completely new to model railways and at 56 im just starting my first layout which due to available room has to be marklin z gauge im building a 72" x 30" coffee table design my conundrum is the electrics all the marklin points work on a momentary pulse ie you press the button it sends pulse to move track you release button and that's it but i want to make my own control panel ive bought 0n/0ff/on momentary toggle switches and red and green leds i want to have the direction of track via points showing with either red or green leds the trouble is as its a momentary pulse the leds won't stay lit and im at a loss as to how to wire that up im guessing a relay might be needed but im absolutely useless with electronics and can't figure out how that would work i was hoping someone knowledgeable on here could guide me with a very simple wiring diagram and list of what parts i will need ie the relay ive tried google and youtube but can't find anything for marklin any help greatly appreciated
paul
SealionSteve

Re: leds on control panel

Post by SealionSteve »

Hi Paul

If you use double-pole/double throw (DPDT) switches you can achieve what you want to do. I'm not saying this is the best approach but it is fairly straightforward. My method means that the LEDs don't confirm that the point has actually been changed - you have to remember to push the momentary push-to-make switch as well as move the DPDT. For something more sophisticated you might well need relays which I think are pretty bulky, but I know little about. Something like an Arduino to control the point motors and LEDs would work better, as it could check that the point has been changed before lighting the LED, but it depends how comfortable you are with computers etc. Anyway, here is my suggestion using simple switches...