Break-in period

Post Reply
Quacker
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2021 12:08 pm
Location: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

Break-in period

Post by Quacker »

I read somewhere that locomotives need to be "broken-in". Can someone tell why and how to "break-in" a locomotive? I have all steam and N scale.
Ms. Jackie
New Mexico, USA
SealionSteve
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2021 7:38 am

Re: Break-in period

Post by SealionSteve »

This applies to new locos or those which have had a new motor fitted. It lets the gears and bearings bed in. If you have a continuous circuit just let it run round at a medium speed for 20 mins or so then ditto in the opposite direction. If you have a rolling road you can use that instead. Most manufacturers include an instruction leaflet and a few of mine say their own make of locos do not need this - but it can't do any harm!
Quacker
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2021 12:08 pm
Location: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

Re: Break-in period

Post by Quacker »

Thanks for the info.
Ms. Jackie
New Mexico, USA
NonnyM
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2021 9:00 pm

Re: Break-in period

Post by NonnyM »

Towards the end of the running in period , add a few trucks or coaches to the engine.

This will help the gearing polish up one surface against the other.

Rgds.

That said, most novice users take the whole lot out of the box , connect the train together and run it for years ( not continuously :D ). No harm seems to be done.
Post Reply